Readings in Contemporary Poetry

April 12, 1996
548 West 22nd Street, NYC, 7:30pm

Derek Walcott

Derek Walcott
Photo: © 1989 Virginia Schendler

Derek Walcott's most recent work, Odyssey: A Stage Version, was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1993, along with his Nobel Lecture, The Antilles: Fragments of Epic Memory. His poetry collections include: Omeros (1990), The Arkansas Testament (1987), Collected Poems 1948-84 (1986), Midsummer (1984), The Fortunate Traveller (1981), The Star-Apple Kingdom (1979), Another Life (1973), The Gulf (1970), and Selected Poems (1964). He has also published four collections of plays and is the founder of the Trinidad Theater Workshop. His numerous honors include the 1992 Nobel Prize for Literature, the Guinness Award for Poetry, a Royal Society of Literature Award, the Cholmondeley Prize, the Welsh Arts Council International Writers Prize, a five-year fellowship from the MacArthur Foundation in 1981 and the Queens Medal for Poetry in 1988. He is an honorary member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. Derek Walcott lives in Trinidad and, during the academic year, Boston, where he teaches at Boston University.