Readings in Contemporary Poetry

Saturday, October 13, 2001
548 West 22nd Street, NYC, 4:00pm

Paul Auster


Paul Auster is the author of Disappearances: Selected Poems (1988) which offers a large sampling from the many books of poetry he published in the 1970's. His novels include Timbuktu (1999), Mr. Vertigo (1994), Leviathan (1992), The Music of Chance (1990), Moon Palace (1989), In the Country of Last Things (1987) and the three novels known as the "New York Trilogy": City of Glass (1986), Ghosts (1986) and The Locked Room (1987). He has also written two memoirs, The Invention of Solitude (1982) and Hand to Mouth (1997), and a book of critical essays, The Art of Hunger (1992). He also wrote the screenplay for the movie Smoke (1995) and was co-director (with Wayne Wang) of Blue in the Face (1995). Most recently he wrote and directed the film Lulu on the Bridge (1998). His other works include The Random House Book of Twentieth Century French Poetry (1982), which he edited, and numerous translations of French writers and poets, including Jacques Dupin, André du Bouchet, Joseph Joubert, Stéphane Mallarmé, Phillippe Petit, Maurice Blanchot, and Pierre Clastres. In 1996, some of this work was gathered in Translations. His newest book is I Thought My Father Was God and Other True Tales from NPR's National Story Project. Among the many awards given to his work are the Morton Dauwen Zabel award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1990), the Independent Spirit Award for best screenplay (1996), and the Prix Médicis for the best foreign novel published in France (1992). His work has been translated into twenty-seven languages.

Michael Ondaatje


Michael Ondaatje was born in Sri Lanka and moved to Canada in 1962. He lives in Toronto. His books of poetry include The Dainty Monsters (1967), The Man With 7 Toes (1969), The Collected Works of Billy the Kid (1970), Rat Jelly (1973), Elimination Dance (1976), There's a Trick With a Knife I'm Learning to Do (1979), Tin Roof (1982), Secular Roof (1984), The Cinnamon Peeler (1992) and Handwriting (1998). His prose works include Coming Through Slaughter (1976), Running In the Family (memoir) (1982), In the Skin of a Lion (1987), The English Patient (1992) and Anil's Ghost (2000). He has edited the anthologies The Long Poem Anthology (1967); From Ink Lake: Canadian Stories (1991); and The Brick Reader (with Linda Spalding) (1991). His many awards include the Booker Prize, (for The English Patient); the Kirayama Book Prize, the Prix Médicis, the Governor General's Award and the Giller Prize.